Meet the Staff

Residential Life & Housing


Jon Nickell

Director of Residential Life and Housing
(509) 527-2539 | jon.nickell@wallawalla.edu 


Bio: As director of Residential Life and Housing, Jon oversees four residential halls (Conard, Foreman, Meske, and Sittner), and Village Housing. Jon, who graduated from WWU in 2011 with a bachelor's degree in psychology, and 2020 with a master's in counseling psychology. Jon spent his first 6 years as an Associate dean, and began as the Director of residential life and housing in 2020. As an undergraduate student, Jon worked in the residential halls as a resident assistant for three years and served as the men's club (OPS) president.


Victoria Stagg

Associate Dean of housing operations
(509) 527-2533 | victoria.stagg@wallawalla.edu


Paul Starkebaum 

Associate Dean of accountability
(509) 527-2112 | paul.starkebaum@wallawalla.edu


Bio: Paul Starkebaum is the Accountability Dean for the residence halls. Paul has spent the last six years working in WWU Athletics. Before that, he was an Elementary Physical Education Teacher. He graduated high school from Mt. Ellis Academy and graduated from Walla Walla University with a degree in physical education, Paul has his Masters in Coaching and Athletic Administration from Concordia University-Irvine. He is married to Briana Starkebaum, and he has a springer spaniel named Addie. Paul enjoys the outdoors, sports, classic cars, and spending time with friends and family. 


Katherine Gonzalez

Associate Dean of facility programming and promotion
(509)-527-2532 | katherine.gonzalez@wallawalla.edu


Anthony Handal

Associate Dean of resident programming
509-527-2113 | anthony.handal@wallawalla.edu


Bio: Anthony Handal is the programming coordinator for the residence halls.


Dorene Hackett

Assistant Director for Off-campus Housing 
(509) 527-2109 | dorene.hackett@wallawalla.edu


Bio: Dorene manages Village Housing, Walla Walla University's off-campus housing. Dorene joined Walla Walla University in 2014. She holds a bachelors degree in Organizational Behavior and Management, and has a well-rounded knowledge in both business practices and program development. She strives to create a safe, supportive, and educational living environment.