Weniger awards

President McVay and other members of WWU community receive award for excellence

John McVay, president of Walla Walla University, was selected as a 2024 recipient of the Charles Elliott Weniger Award for Excellence. The award will be presented at the annual award presentation on Feb. 17, 2024, in Loma Linda, Calif. 

The awards are given in honor of Charles E. Wenigner, dean of the Seventh-day Adventist Theological Seminary in Washington D.C. from 1948–1958, who inspired and mentored a generation of ministers, chaplains, and theologians. Weniger modeled the charismatic public speaking that he expected of his students and encouraged them to explore through the worlds of literature, drama, and music. The awards recognize individuals who exemplify the values of humility, kindness, and professionalism demonstrated by Weniger. 

Every year, a student is recognized from each of the 13 accredited Seventh-day Adventist colleges and universities in the North American Division. Weniger Student Fellows receive $750 provided by the Weniger Society matched by $750 from the institution. This year, Juliana Zollbrecht, junior exercise science major, was chosen and will be celebrated at the WWU Awards CommUnity. WWU alumna Ginger Ketting-Weller is also a 2024 recipient of the Weniger award. 

The 48th annual awards presentation of the Charles Elliott Weniger Society for Excellence will take place on Feb. 17, 2024 at 4:30 pm at the Loma Linda University Church. All are welcome to attend. The event will also be live streamed at lluc.org/live.

Posted Feb. 14, 2024

President McVay