Leadership in education

WWU President John McVay to serve as board chair for Independent Colleges of Washington

Walla Walla University President John McVay will serve as chair of the Board of Directors for the Independent Colleges of Washington from July 2019 through June 2021.

ICW is comprised of the 10 private, not-for-profit colleges and universities in Washington state, including Whitman College and Walla Walla University, which are both located in the Walla Walla Valley. For more than 60 years, ICW has promoted educational opportunity through policy engagement, programs, and fundraising partnerships. ICW works to promote equity to ensure that all students—including new-majority, first-generation, returning adults, low-income, and underrepresented youth—can choose their ideal education environment and graduate prepared to contribute their talents to the state, the nation, and the world.

McVay was inaugurated as the 23rd president of Walla Walla University in 2006. He was a professor of New Testament and associate dean at Andrews University from 1998 to 2000 and was dean of the Seventh-day Adventist Theological Seminary from 2000 to 2006. He holds degrees from Southern Adventist University, Andrews University, and Sheffield University in England.

Posted Aug. 1, 2019

Portrait of John McVay wearing a suit and tie sitting in front of shelves of books.
John McVay has been WWU president since 2006.