Celebration of awards

WWU honors the scholarship of students, staff, and faculty


On April 19, Walla Walla University held its annual Awards Celebration ceremony to celebrate the scholarship and achievement of students, staff, and faculty. Thanks to generous contributions from alumni and friends, more than 230 scholarship funds totaling $890,497 were awarded to students.

Five staff and faculty members were honored during the ceremony for their high commitment to WWU’s core themes: excellence in thought, generosity in service, beauty in expression, and faith in God. Read about each award and the recipients on our website.

During the program, President McVay also highlighted notable scholarly achievements of many other WWU students and faculty members. Student accomplishments ranged from bioreactor designs for skeletal muscle tissue engineering to involvement in a national vocal competition. Commendable faculty feats included research on computational solid mechanics models and publishing a commentary on the book of Judges. 

WWU also honored four alumni: Herb Larsen, Kari Firestone, Pedrito Maynard-Zhang, and Les Zollbrecht. They were recognized for outstanding or unusual contributions in the areas of community service, church service, and professional service. Each honoree's character and work reflect Walla Walla University's core values. More information on each honoree can be found at wallawalla.edu/homecoming
Browse the Awards Celebration booklet, which includes a complete list of scholarships, at wallawalla.edu/awards.

Posted June 13, 2023.

Matt Webster shakes President McVay's hand while receiving award