Faculty

Develop relationships that advance your skills.

Students receive individual attention from their professors—Ph.D. professors, not the graduate assistants you’d find in larger schools. Our students also start with and move through their sequences together, fostering stronger friendships and getting comfortable with working in teams. See what degrees you could earn when you learn from these professors.


Benjamin D. Jackson

Chair, Associate Professor of Mathematics

(509) 527-2088
benjamin.jackson@wallawalla.edu
Kretschmar Hall 338

Education

Research/Interests
Partial differential equation models, parameter estimation and uncertainty quantification and collaboration with experimentalists. 

Preston Carman

Assistant Professor of Computer Science

(509) 527-2084
preston.carman@wallawalla.edu

Education

  • MS University of California, Riverside, 2014
  • MBA La Sierra University, 2006
  • BS Walla Walla University, 2003

James Foster

Assistant Professor of Computer Science

(509) 527-2067
james.foster@wallawalla.edu 

Education

  • MBA Southern Adventist University, 2015
  • MS North Dakota State University, 2006
  • JD University of California Los Angeles, 1983
  • BA Walla Walla College, 1980

Natalie Smith-Gray

Assistant Professor of Engineering and Computer Science

(509) 527-2082
natalie.smith-gray@wallawalla.edu

Education

  • BSE Walla Walla University, 2018
  • PhD Washington State University, 2022

Research/Interests
Circuit Analysis, Fundamentals of Programming, Data Science. 


Supporting Faculty

Larry Aamodt

Professor of Engineering and Computer Science

(509) 527-2765
larry.aamodt@wallawalla.edu

Education

  • PhD Washington State University, 1999
  • MSEE Washington State University, 1990 

Research/Interests

Assembly language programming, computer architecture, embedded systems and VLSI. 

 

Rob Frohne

Professor of Engineering

(509) 527-2075
rob.frohne@wallawalla.edu

Education

  • PhD Purdue University, 1988 
  • MSEE Purdue University, 1985
  • BSE Walla Walla College,1983 

Research/Interests
Circuit analysis, signals and systems, electronics, instrumentation, electromagnetic propagation and radiation and communication systems. 


Mark Haun

Professor of Engineering

(509) 527-2076
mark.haun@wallawalla.edu

Education

  • PhD University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 2003
  • MS University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1999
  • BSE Walla Walla College, 1996

Research/Interests
Circuit Analysis, Instrumentation, System Design, Signals and Systems.