Page menu

Walla Walla University leadership team

Walla Walla University is led by the university president, the president’s Cabinet, and the Board of Trustees. The president and vice presidents lead the day-to-day management and direction of the university, and the president receives this authority from the university Board of Trustees.

Three times a year, the president and vice presidents meet with the Board of Trustees to advise that governing body regarding university matters. The Board of Trustees is responsible for the overall government and welfare of the university, including matters regarding faculty, staff, students, and alumni. The board is also responsible for selecting the university president, determining the major goals of the university, and approving university budgets.

As a Seventh-day Adventist university, members of the Board of Trustees include regional leaders of the Adventist church as well as church members elected to terms of service on the board.

John K. McVay has lead the university as president since 2006.

Learn more about the Board of Trustees >

President’s Cabinet

John McVay

President

John.McVay@wallawalla.edu
(509) 527-2121

Executive assistant to the president
Deirdre Benwell
Deirdre.Benwell@wallawalla.edu 
(509) 527-2121
Fax: (509) 527-2103

Assistant to the president
Darold Bigger
Darold.Bigger@wallawalla.edu 
(509) 527-2389
Fax: (509) 527-2103

Volker Henning

Vice president for
academic administration

Volker.Henning@wallawalla.edu 
(509) 527-2431

Executive assistant to the vice president for academic administration
Cheri Wolcott
Cheri.Wolcott@wallawalla.edu
(509) 527-2431
Fax: (509) 527-2103

Steve Rose

Vice President for
financial administration

Steve.Rose@wallawalla.edu 
(509) 527-2402

Executive assistant to the vice president for financial administration
Sharryl Toews
Sharryl.Toews@wallawalla.edu
(509) 527-2402
Fax: (509) 527-2130

Doug Tilstra

Vice president for
student life

Doug.Tilstra@wallawalla.edu
(509) 527-2511

Administrative assistant to the vice president for student life
Sheila Meharry
Sheila.Meharry@wallawalla.edu 
(509) 527-2511
Fax: (509) 527-2674

Jodi Wagner

Vice president for university relations and advancement

Jodi.Wagner@wallawalla.edu
(509) 527-2772

Administrative assistant to the vice president for university relations and advancement
Renee Unterseher
Renee.Unterseher@wallawalla.edu 
(509) 527-2772
Fax: (509) 527-2397

Pedrito Maynard-Reid

Assistant to the president for diversity

Scott Ligman

Associate vice president for
academic administration

Scott.Ligman@wallawalla.edu 
(509) 527-2395

Administrative assistant to the associate vice president for academic administration
Lorri Bays
Lorri.Bays@wallawalla.edu 
(509) 527-2395
Fax: (509) 527-2103

Pamela Cress

Associate vice president for graduate studies

Pam.Cress@wallawalla.edu 
(509) 527-2483

Administrative assistant to the associate vice president for graduate studies
April Duffy
April.Duffy@wallawalla.edu 
(509) 527-2421
Fax: (509) 527-2237

Ken Vyhmeister

Associate vice president for financial administration

Ken.Vyhmeister@wallawalla.edu 
(509) 527-2391

Executive assistant to the associate vice president for financial administration
Sharryl Toews
Sharryl.Toews@wallawalla.edu 
(509) 527-2402
Fax: (509) 527-2103

Trevor Congleton

Associate vice president for marketing and enrollment services

Troy Patzer

Associate vice president for alumni and advancement services

Troy.Patzer@wallawalla.edu 
(509) 527-2586

Administrative assistant to the associate vice president for alumni and advancement services
Amanda Eldevik
Amanda.Eldevik@wallawalla.edu 
(509) 527-2002

Hilary Catlett

Assistant vice president for student life and dean of students

Last update on June 26, 2018