Page menu

Join a small group

If you find a group you’re interested in below, either contact the group leader(s) directly to express your interest or email our small groups coordinator: small.groups@wallawalla.edu. The University Church also offers groups led by members that students are welcome to join. To see the full list of what's available, and for information, go to http://www.wwuchurch.com/small-groups 


Leader     Shane Butler
Location TBD
Time Thursday, 7 p.m.

The small group “Breaking Bread” is a group for young and old students seeking a mature setting where God centered conversation drives opportunity for people to grow with each other and open up to each other in confidence and love. The setting will be structured around a short message and move into discussion amongst those attending. Food (specifically bread) will be served and eaten throughout the entire time together with the idea that we will break bread together and talk with one another. Breaking Bread meets Thursdays at 7 p.m. Contact Shane Butler for more information.

Contact: shane.butler@wallawalla.edu

Leader     Hope Heaton
Location TBD
Time Sunday, 2 p.m.

For both the artistically inclined and not, this small group meets when study breaks are the most necessary. Members go to a different location each week to sketch, watercolor, and more! Contact Hope Heaton for weekly location.

Contact: hope.heaton@wallawalla.edu

Leader     Unknown
Location TBD
Time Thursday, 6:30 p.m.

The focus of this small group is to build community with each other and to practice faith by serving others. Each week members will commune together by sharing a meal and then discovering new ways of reading Scripture. Once a month they will go out into the community and serve so that they can practice what they learn.

Leaders     Faculty Members
Location Varies
Time Varies

There are options available for people who are interested in joining a small group hosted in a faculty member’s home. Contact the names listed below for more information.

  • Dan Solis
  • Logan Adams
  • Doug Tilstra

Contact: daniel.solis@wallawalla.edu, logan.adams@wallawalla.edu, and douglas.tilstra@wallawalla.edu

Leader     Kayla Nash
Location TBD
Time Monday, 7 p.m.- 8 p.m.

This is a group for current small group leaders or those seeking to be a small group leader in the future. Each meeting will be filled with crazy, new, and creative ideas for small group fellowship. For the fall quarter only, members meet from 7 p.m.- 8 p.m. Monday nights. Contact Kayla Nash for more details.

Contact: kayla.nash@wallawalla.edu

Leader     Student Mission's Team
Location TBD
Time Thursday, 7 p.m.

Led by the Student Mission’s Team, this group is created and designed for returned SMs, but anyone interested in missions/service are invited to attend. It meets Thursdays at 7 p.m. starting October 18. Contact the Student Mission’s Office for more details.

Contact: student.missions@wallawalla.edu

Leader     Kiana Brussett
Location Prayer House
Time Tuesday, 10 a.m.- 11 a.m.

This group meets at the Prayer House on Tuesday from 10 a.m.- 11 a.m.

Contact: kiana.brussett@wallawalla.edu

Leaders     Alexa Johnson and Emma Tucker
Location The Atlas
Time Wednesday, 7 a.m.

This small group meets at the Atlas on Wednesday mornings for some tea and discussion about the book, Jesus Calling. Contact leaders for more details.

Contact: alexa.johnson@wallawalla.edu and emma.tucker@wallawalla.edu

Leaders     Lindsay White and Mary Million
Location TBD
Time TBD

Most people will experience some sort of loss in their lifetime. With the loss of a loved one comes the perplexed journey of grief. Grief is portrayed differently by each person based on their worldview and past experiences. This small group believes that no one should have to go through it alone. Having an understanding companion for the journey can help change the scene into a healing, hopeful, and courageous walk. Contact leaders for more details.

Contact: lindsay.white@wallawalla.edu and mary.million@wallawalla.edu

 

Leaders     Andrea Betts and Kelsey Turner
Location TBD
Time TBD

This is a small group for women. Contact the leaders for more information.

Contact: andrea.betts@wallawalla.edu and kelsey.turner@wallawalla.edu

Leader     Cameron Fitzgerald
Location TBD
Time TBD

This group explores how to be a man of God in 2018. Contact leader for more details.

Contact: cameron.fitzgerald@wallawalla.edu

Leaders     Michelle Naden and Kate Ruud
Location TBD
Time Tuesday, 8 p.m.- 9 p.m.

When thinking about self-care, people also need to think about what their minds need in order to be happy. Members of this small group will focus on how to create space in their minds for peace, focus, and creativity. They will explore what things they can do to renew their minds and to feel more satisfied in their lives. The group will meet Tuesdays from 8 p.m.- 9 p.m. beginning October 9. Contact Michelle Naden or Kate Ruud for more details.

Contact: michelle.naden@wallawalla.edu and katelyn.ruud@wallawalla.edu

Leaders     Michelle Naden and Zack Hoffer
Location TBD
Time Thursday, 8 p.m.- 9 p.m.

When thinking about self-care, people also need to think about what their minds need in order to be happy. Members of this small group will focus on how to create space in their minds for peace, focus, and creativity. They will explore what things they can do to renew their minds and to feel more satisfied in their lives. The group will meet Thursdays from 8 p.m.- 9:00 p.m. beginning October 11. Contact Michelle Naden or Zack Hoffer for more details.

Contact: michelle.naden@wallawalla.edu and zackary.hoffer@wallawalla.edu

Leader     Kate Ruud
Location Foreman 309
Time Tuesday, 8:15 p.m.- 8:45 p.m.

Come pray with this small group on Tuesdays from 8:15 p.m.- 8:45 p.m. in F309! Contact Kate Ruud for more details.

Contact: katelyn.ruud@wallawalla.edu

Leaders     Zack Hoffer and Jared Frost
Location Men's Dorm
Time TBD

Come pray with this small group in the men's dorm! Contact leaders for more details.

Contact: zack.hoffer@wallawalla.edu and jared.frost@wallawalla.edu

Leaders     Rachel Silcox and Lydia Segura
Location Foreman 6th Parlor
Time Friday, 4 p.m.

Nothing will brighten your day more than the chance to brighten someone else’s day! This group is all about spreading kindness. Meet Friday at 4 p.m. in the Foreman 6th Parlor. Contact leaders for more details.

Contact: lydia.segura@wallawalla.edu and rachel.silcox@wallawalla.edu

Leader     Zack Hoffer
Location Prayer Room
Time Wednesday, 7:30 p.m.

Random Bible Study is in the Prayer Room on Wednesday nights at 7:30 p.m. Contact Zack Hoffer for more details.

Contact: zack.hoffer@wallawalla.edu

Leader     Becky Valenzuela
Location Women's Dorm
Time Friday, 8 a.m.

Come start your day right with a Bible study in the women’s dorm with Becky Valenzuela on Friday mornings at 8 a.m.

Contact: becky.valenzuela@wallawalla.edu

Leader     Zack Hoffer
Location Men's Dorm
Time Sundown on Saturday

Every Sabbath at Sundown, there will be a chronological Bible study taking place in the Men’s Dorm. Contact Zack Hoffer for more details.

Contact: zack.hoffer@wallawalla.edu

Leaders     Anne Hodgson and Carrie Theus
Location Mountain View Apartments
Time Thursday, 7 p.m.- 8 p.m.

This is a small group focused on building community through good conversation and being authentic with one another.

Contact: anne.hodgson@wallawalla.edu and caroline.theus@wallawalla.edu

Leaders     Jenn Bosler and Sarah Halversen
Location Foreman 3rd Floor Parlor
Time Wednesday, 5:45 p.m.

This small group is excited about Jesus! Its main focuses are on building community, growing closer to God, and enjoying good food. It will be meeting Wednesdays at 5:45 p.m. in the third-floor parlor of Foreman. If at all interested, stop by and say hello.

Contact: jennifer.bosler@wallawalla.edu and sarah.halversen@wallawalla.edu

Leaders     Josiah Buster and Carlos Lopez
Location TBD
Time TBD

This group is for those who want to explore what it means to grow their faith in Jesus and to make it their own. Contact Josiah Buster or Carlos Lopez for more information.

Contact: josiah.buster@wallawalla.edu and carlos.lopezmercado@wallawalla.edu

Leader     Dan Wolcott
Location Room 210
Time TBD

This is a discussion group centered on mending broken hearts. It is led by Dan Wolcott in Room 210.

Contact: dan.wolcott@wallawalla.edu


Don’t know a specific group you’d like to join?
Take this interest survey and we’ll get you matched up!

Last update on October 19, 2018