Page menu

Walla Walla University—Missoula

Wilma Hepker School of Social Work and Sociology

Our mission is to train competent and ethical professionals who: embody integrity, value all people, serve their communities, and pursue social justice. Our program is designed for commuter students with one day a week classes. This makes it easy to complete your degree while still managing the demands of life.  An MSW can be earned in six quarters.  A four quarter advanced standing program is also available to BSW graduates who have graduated from a CSWE accredited institution.

The focus of the program is advanced clinical practice. Students may take electives in areas such as addictions, aging, child welfare, children and families, mental health, medical social work, and school social work. 

The Master of Social Work program is fully accredited by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE).



Meet the faculty

Our faculty of full-time professors and supporting contract teachers is large enough to offer experience in a diverse range of areas, but small enough to allow students to get to know each faculty member. We strive to offer a quality program for our majors, including a wide range of class options and small class sizes.

Laurelle C. Warner, Program Coordinator

Ph.D. Candidate, M.S.W., L.C.S.W., Associate Professor of Social Work and Sociology

(406) 549-1050

laurelle.warner@wallawalla.edu

Karen Emerson, Missoula Field Education Coordinator

M.S.W., L.C.S.W., Instructor of Social Work and Sociology

(406) 549-1797

karen.emerson@wallawalla.edu

Randi Hankins

M.S.W., L.I.C.S.W., Assistant Professor of Social Work and Sociology

(509) 527-2314

randi.hankins@wallawalla.edu

Kevin Grussling

M.S.W., D.S.W., A.B.D., Assistant Professor of Social Work and Sociology

(406) 542-8425

kevin.grussling@wallawalla.edu

Ann Szalda-Petree

Ph.D., M.S.W., L.C.S.W., Associate Professor of Social Work and Sociology

(406) 721-2075

Ann.Szalda-Petree@wallawalla.edu

Angela Schwab 

Administrative Assistant/Front Desk Receptionist

(406) 549-4928

angela.schwab@wallawalla.edu

Judith Jones

Front Desk Receptionist

(406) 549-4928

judith.jones@wallawalla.edu

Last update on September 20, 2018