Page menu

Walla Walla University—College Place

Wilma Hepker School of Social Work and Sociology

Our mission is to train competent and ethical professionals who: embody integrity, value all people, serve their communities, and pursue social justice. Our program is designed for commuter students with one day a week classes. This makes it easy to complete your degree while still managing the demands of life.  An MSW can be earned in six quarters.  A four quarter advanced standing program is also available to BSW graduates who have graduated from a CSWE accredited institution.

The focus of the program is advanced clinical practice. Students may take electives in areas such as addictions, aging, child welfare, children and families, mental health, medical social work, and school social work. 

The Master of Social Work program is fully accredited by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE).


Meet the faculty

Our faculty of full-time professors and supporting contract teachers is large enough to offer experience in a diverse range of areas, but small enough to allow students to get to know each faculty member. We strive to offer a quality program for our majors, including a wide range of class options and small class sizes.

Susan B. Smith, Dean

Ph.D, M.S.W., L.I.C.S.W, Professor of Social Work and Sociology

(509) 527-2443

susan.smith@wallawalla.edu 

Jim Boyd, MSW Program Director 

Ph.D, M.S.W., Professor of Social Work and Sociology

(509) 527-2367 

jim.boyd@wallawalla.edu


Emily Tillotson, BSW Program Director

M.S.W., L.I.C.S.W, Assistant Professor of Social Work and Sociology

(509) 527-2705

emily.tillotson@wallawalla.edu 

Deisy Haid, Field Education Director

M.S.W, L.C.S.W, Assistant Professor of Social Work and Sociology

(509) 527-2472 

deisy.haid@wallawalla.edu


Cindee Bailey

Ph.D, M.S.W., Professor of Social Work and Sociology

(509) 527-2552

cindee.bailey@wallawalla.edu

Cheris Current 

Ph.D., M.A., Professor of Social Work and Sociology

(509) 527-2903 

cheris.current@wallawalla.edu 


Heather Rodriguez

M.S.W., L.I.C.S.W, Assistant Professor of Social Work and Sociology

(509) 527-2359

heather.rodriguez@wallawalla.edu

Bob Gardner

Ph.D., Professor of Social Work and Sociology

(509) 527-2512

robert.gardner@wallawalla.edu


Sherrice Croft

M.S.W., Instructor in Social Work and Sociology

(509) 527-2884

sherrice.croft@wallawalla.edu

Heather Vonderfecht

Ph.D, M.S.W., Associate Professor of Social Work and Sociology

(509) 527-2584

heather.vonderfecht@wallawalla.edu


Doreena Drury 

M.S.W. Program Assistant

(509) 527-2590 

doreena.drury@wallawalla.edu 

Marianne Goltz

Business Manager and Recruitment Coordinator

(509) 527-2763
Marianne.Goltz@wallawalla.edu

Last update on October 10, 2018