Board of Trustees Meeting Report

The Walla Walla College Board of Trustees met Monday for its quarterly meeting. The meeting was held at the new North Pacific Union Conference headquarters in Ridgefield, Wash., and marked the first time members of the newly-voted board met together.

Board members spent a majority of the meeting addressing issues related to the upcoming name change to Walla Walla University. The board approved a slightly altered seal, changing the domain name to, and changing the name of the college’s marine station to “Rosario Beach Marine Laboratory” with a subtitle of “Walla Walla University: Seventh-day Advenist Higher Education.”

The board also discussed the proposal of a revised mission statement and core values, which were approved with the understanding that additional conversations and refinements are possible.

College administrators also presented their reports to the board. Jim Hall, interim vice president for financial administration, presented a report on the financial state of the college. Ginger Ketting-Weller, vice president for academic administration, reported on ongoing work by the Academic Strategic Planning Committee to develop a program evaluation model and strategic initiatives. She also reported on a number of faculty accomplishments. The final report of the day was given by Rosa Jimenez, interim vice president for college advancement, who reported on the current status of annual giving, which is up from this time last year.

“I am very impressed by the level of engagement and interest displayed by our board members and by the expertise, youth, and energy represented by the new members,” says President John McVay. “It was a substantive and productive meeting.”

Board members include:
Jere Patzer, chair, president, North Pacific Union Conference of Seventh-day Adventists
Russell Gilbert, vice chair, attorney with Lyon, Wiegand, and Gustafson
John McVay, secretary, president, Walla Walla College
Tom Allen, science and technology teacher, Auburn Adventist Academy
DeLona Bell, president, CMBell Company, Inc.
Alex Betancourt, orchardist, Washington
Gary Botimer, orthopedic surgeon, Idaho
Ken Crawford, president, Alaska Conference
Larry D. Dodds, senior vice president, Adventist Health
Mumtaz Fargo, professor of history
John Freedman, president, Washington Conference
George Gainer, pastor, Pleasant Valley SDA Church
Carmen Graham, homemaker
Yoswa Gwalamubisi, educator, retired
Don Hall, business owner, WellSource, Inc.
Alan Hurlbert, director of education, North Pacific Union Conference
Marshall Keymer, business consultant
Norman Klam, treasurer, North Pacific Union Conference
Gordon Lacey, computer specialist
Cameron Libby, senior account executive for Crowley Petroleum Distribution, Inc.
Don Livesay, president, Oregon Conference
John Loor, Jr., president, Montana Conference
Stephen L. McPherson, president, Idaho Conference
Bryce Pascoe, executive secretary, North Pacific Union Conference
Barbara Prowant, attorney
Paul Rhynard, private markets research analyst
Sue Smith, teacher, retired
Bruce Thorn, attorney, Colson & Colson
Max Torkelsen, II, president, Upper Columbia Conference


<- Back to: News

Bookmark and Share